Rural School and Community Trust Logo

Urge Your Member of Congress on the Committee to Support ACE

The All Children are Equal (ACE) Act which addresses inequities in the formula for distributing Title I funds to public schools, will likely be considered as an amendment to a bill that will be before the committee sometime during the week of January 23.

You can make a difference by contacting committee members (see list below) and urging them to support the All Children are Equal Act amendment.

The main bill is the Student Success Act introduced by the Republican Leadership of the committee.  It addresses many other issues that are part of Title I, but not the funding formula.  You can read a summary of the Student Success Act by CLICKING HERE.

Our goal is to get the ACE Act adopted as an amendment with bi-partisan support. Many Democrats who will support ACE will probably not support the entire Student Success Act, even if ACE is a part of it.

So the main bill might ultimately be passed out of committee with little or no Democratic support.

But it is very important for us to get our ACE Act on the record with a bi-partisan vote of support in committee.  That is a good foundation on which to build through the rest of the legislative process this year and beyond.

The members of the Education and the Workforce Committee are listed below.  If your Congressman or Congresswoman is on the list, you can reach them by CLICKING HERE.  You will be directed to a page where you can enter your zip code and be directed to an email form for him or her.

Act before January 23!

House of Representatives — Education and the Workforce Committee


John Kline, Minnesota , (Chairman)
Thomas E. Petri, Wisconsin
Howard P. “Buck” McKeon, California
Judy Biggert, Illinois
Todd Russell Platts, Pennsylvania
Joe Wilson, South Carolina
Virginia Foxx, North Carolina
Bob Goodlatte, Virginia
Duncan D. Hunter, California
David P. Roe, Tennessee
Glenn Thompson, Pennsylvania
Tim Walberg, Michigan
Scott DesJarlais, Tennessee
Richard Hanna, New York
Todd Rokita, Indiana
Larry Bucshon, Indiana
Trey Gowdy, South Carolina
Lou Barletta, Pennsylvania
Kristi Noem, South Dakota
Martha Roby, Alabama
Joe Heck, Nevada
Dennis Ross, Florida
Mike Kelly, Pennsylvania


George Miller, California, (Ranking Member)
Dale E. Kildee, Michigan
Donald M. Payne, New Jersey
Robert E. Andrews, New Jersey
Robert C. Scott, Virginia
Lynn C. Woolsey, California
Rubén Hinojosa, Texas
Carolyn McCarthy, New York
John F. Tierney, Massachusetts
Dennis J. Kucinich, Ohio
Rush D. Holt, New Jersey
Susan A. Davis, California
Raúl M. Grijalva, Arizona
Timothy H. Bishop, New York
Dave Loebsack, Iowa
Mazie Hirono, Hawaii
Jason Altmire, Pennsylvania

Comments are closed.